Pamela Bond


The Authenticity Compass


Authenticity: Being true to yourself and others. This requires understanding your innate skills and preferences and honestly identifying and then, developing the skills you need to make the best choices in life. The best choices result in you achieving a state of alignment and balance.

Alignment: A state of optimum connection between two or more individuals, systems, or situations. It is established and sustained by the existence of a shared directed purpose. Being in alignment means your relationships are defined by mutual respect, clear communication and collaboration (i.e. relationship harmony).

Balance: A state of equilibrium. Balance reflects strength and is expressed through mental, physical, spiritual, and emotional stability. Being in balance means you are giving your mind, body, heart and soul the attention they need to be in an optimum state of health.

Conscious Choice: A decision focused on achieving alignment and balance. Conscious choice requires ongoing awareness of the internal forces (i.e., your perceptions and judgments) and external forces (e.g., social, environmental, economic, political) affecting an individual or a system. Conscious choice is the foundation for sustainable success and happiness.

Preference: In relationship to the Authenticity Compass, preference means one’s inborn way of perceiving the world (sensing or intuition) and judging it (thinking or feeling).

PJ Pair: The Authenticity Compass applies Jung’s mental functions for Perception (sensing and intuition) and Judgment (thinking and feeling). The Authenticity Compass also reinforces the fact that every perception is always accompanied by a judgment. That being said there are only four Perception-Judgment pairings and therefore, four Authenticity Compass Quadrants (ACQs):

  • Sensing-Thinking (ST)
  • Sensing-Feeling (SF)
  • Intuitive-Thinking (NT)
  • Intuitive-Feeling (NF)

Dominant Quadrant (DQ): Research has shown that people have innate PJ preferences. This means one of the four PJ pairs represents the way a person prefers to perceive and judge their life experience and as a result, naturally attend to one of the four Cycle of Success activities

Less Dominant Quadrant (LDQ): The Authenticity Compass has 4 quadrants. After you identify your DQ, by default, you also identify your LDQs (i.e. the remaining three quadrants)